Digital Humanities: Don’t Lose Focus

Don’t lose focus! (WikiMedia Commons)

For my project on Robinson Crusoe and adventure in the first half of the 18th century (1700-1750), it’s surprisingly easy to jump right in and completely lose focus. With online media there is such a wealth of possibility that it’s more important than ever to narrow in on a particular route of study.

I will therefore be simplifying the navigation of the project website, splitting the reflections on method away from the critical essay that will analyse purely the results.

Simplified, my pages will now be:

  • Introduction: explaining what my project is, what it’s about and who it’s by, etc.
  • Reflection of Method: this will be a reflective essay focusing on the process of distance reading and evaluating the usefulness of the tools in relation to my project.
  • Critical Essay: my close reading of adventure in Robinson Crusoe against the “backdrop” of my distance reading results on the same subject during (and limited to) 1660-1730.
  • Bibliography: split in two this will include my critical sources/reading and my data results/tools (visual or otherwise).

Not only will this enhance reader’s experience when on my website and add clarity to my argument, but it will also mean I have much more of a focus when approaching the project.

About Ben Franks

Ben Franks is the Editor in Chief and Managing Director of Pie Magazine, which he founded in August 2010. He is currently studying for a degree in Literature and Creative Writing at Bath Spa University, Somerset.

Leave a Reply

